

City of Blaine Anoka County, Minnesota

Blaine City Hall 10801 Town Sq Dr NE Blaine MN 55449

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: MO 17-25 Version: 1 Name: 2017 Boards and Commissions Mayoral

Appointments

Type: Motion Status: Passed

File created: 3/2/2017 In control: City Council
On agenda: 3/2/2017 Final action: 3/2/2017

Title: 2017 BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

Sponsors: Catherine Sorensen

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Applicants

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/2/2017	1	City Council	Approved	
2/16/2017	1	City Council	Postponed	

ADMINISTRATION - Cathy Sorensen, City Clerk

2017 BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

Each year Council announces appointments to various City Boards and Commissions, including the newly-formed Traffic Commission. Vacancies exist in each Ward for all Boards and Commissions and members are appointed for two-year terms with the exception of the Fire Board which are four-year terms and the Special Board of Review which expire annually.

The City received many qualified applications from residents within the community which resulted in members of the Council interviewing 60 applicants on January 30, January 31, February 9 and February 13, 2017. After deliberation during the worksession held earlier this evening, the Mayor will announce appointments for the following vacancies:

PLANNING COMMISSION (3)

- 1 Expired Term Ward 1
- 1 Expired Term- Ward 2
- 1 Expired Term Ward 3

PARK ADVISORY (3)

- 1 Expired Term Ward 1
- 1 Expired Term- Ward 2
- 1 Expired Term Ward 3

NATURAL RESOURCE CONSERVATION BOARD (6)

- 1 Expired Term Chair at Large
- 1 Expired Term Ward 1
- 1 Expired Term- Ward 2
- 1 Expired Term Ward 3
- 1 Vacant Term Ward 3 (Boardmember Kimberly Gunter)
- 1 Vacant Term At Large (Boardmember Anthony Wilder)

TRAFFIC COMMISSION (7)

- New Chair at Large
- New 2 Applicants Ward 1
- New 2 Applicants Ward 2
- New 2 Applicants Ward 3

FIRE BOARD (2)

• 2 Expired Terms

SPECIAL BOARD OF REVIEW (5)

- Randi Erickson, Chair
- Patrick Grengs
- Maisa Olson
- Lynda Riley
- Mary Wells

SENIOR ADVISORY COUNCIL (Term expires January 31, 2017)

- William Wilkes
- Joanne C. Lero
- Nellie Spexet
- Martha Caouette
- Jerry Schilling
- Patricia L. Sandin
- Shirley Knoll
- James D. Grant
- Rebecca Sales
- Douglas Kurpiers
- Kathryn Helmke
- Stephen Steiner

File #: MO 17-25, Version: 1

- Abdul Basit
- Sue Ouellette

The Council will confirm these appointments at their March 16, 2017, Council meeting and Board and Commissioner members will be sworn in during their next regular meetings.

Mayor announces appointments and Chairs for each Board and Commission.